Janmashtami

Stainless Steal

Today
Is the day of birth
of the brilliant blue
of Brindavana

The stealer of butter
and hearts…

Born at midnight
He steals sleep;

Beware,beware, thrice beware
For this thief
Will leave you with nothing,
This prison-born
Takes no prisoners…

Dont even glance at him.

He will steal your very life
with his smile.

8 Responses to “Janmashtami”

  1. Srinivasa Says:

    अठाटो सुट्टा,

    This poem reads like something MF Husain may have written on Madhuri Diskette or something many सडक छाप poets may have written on अभिषेक बच्चन की बहु or anybody else on any other star. बधाइयाँ – on second reading it almost reads like something Rumi may have written.

    Now for the all important topic of the title: is it about him or what he does?

  2. gkamesh Says:

    Srini Jnaab

    Thanks for your kind words. somewhere between sadak chaap poet and Rumi is good enough i guess. btw, here is a Rumi quatrain, as translated by Zara Houshmand…a response of sorts to the theme of being stolen stainless…

    My life is lost, my world is lost – all lost.

    O moon, I’ve lost the earth, the sky – all lost.

    Don’t pass the wine, just pour it in my mouth.

    I’ve lost the very way to my own mouth.

    **

    And Srini: About the title….He is what he does.

    Regards

  3. Srinivasa Says:

    अच्छी बात|

    Can you give me link to the original – would like to enjoy the original. Hope it’s not a Coleman Barks translation.

  4. gkamesh Says:

    Srini saab

    The Rumi link http://www.iranian.com/Arts/rumi.html

    Njoy

  5. Srinivasa Says:

    There are 10, 000 verses there. Please point me to the one you’ve cited

  6. gkamesh Says:

    Cant you take a lil strain and do अन्वेषणम् ?

    Here it is anyway http://www.iranian.com/Arts/Rumi/1159.html

  7. Srinivasa Says:

    Here’s the poem you quoted:

    ऐ जान ओ जहाँ ! जान ओ जहाँ गुम करदम
    ऐ माह् ! ज़मीन ओ आसमान गुम करदम
    मै बर ए कफ मन मज़ा बज़ा बर दहनम
    कज़ मस्ती तो राह ए दहान गुम करदम

    English translation you quoted:

    My life is lost, my world is lost – all lost.
    O moon, I’ve lost the earth, the sky – all lost.
    Don’t pass the wine, just pour it in my mouth.
    I’ve lost the very way to my own mouth.

  8. gkamesh Says:

    Thanks Srini.

    Wonderful sounds.

    Surely there is more music in the eastern tongue.

    Regards

Comments are closed.


