The sudden blossom…

Walking on the road  by the side of Big Banyan tree at Adyar Theosophical society, I suddenly halt… Its that flower again!

It blossoms just once a year… and that too for just a few days…

I step back towards the wicket gate of the enclosure that surrounds the Big Banyan tree, and take a lateral view of this bed of blossom…

flower2

Red globules on the rubble floor…

Appears quite like magic, suddenly, sometime during the summer.

I walk down the road, and take another picture, side view…

flower1

Pushing my cell-camera thru the gap in the wire-cage…

flower3

Peeping out of the bed of dry leaves, the plant is all but invisible throughout the year…Growing up to just ten or twelve inches… And suddenly blossoms… Lasts for a week, max…

I try a close(r)-up…

flower4

This, if I am not mistaken, is a “Football Lily”… also known as the “powder puff lily”… also, “globe lily”…

Lovely to gaze at… Here is another set…

flower6

Flower power!

Tags:

3 Responses to “The sudden blossom…”

  1. Padmini Says:

    Nice🙂 Unusual looking. And what’s that little purple (violet?) thingy peeking out from behind it in 2, 3 and 4 above, saying “me too, me too”?

  2. Meena Pakala Says:

    Welcome back to blogging Kamesh. Simple and sweet pleasure in these flowers. Good observation Padmini, about the little violet.

  3. perplexed611 Says:

    pretty!!🙂

Comments are closed.


