Night of Siva

MahaSivaRatri!

Reached Tiruvannamalai around 6-30 pm. Sri Ramanasramam is buzzing with devotees. The car park is full up.

After Darshan and Pradakshina of Mathrubhutheshwara shrine (Mother), came to the Ramaneshwara Mahalinga shrine. The Tamil Parayana was just complete. The first Kaala puja was getting over…

Making my way through the throng of devotees, I manage to hand over a small paper packet containing a few leaf-sets from the Mahavilvam tree that I planted at my home. I had got the sapling from Ramanasramam some years ago. The sapling has now grown into a young tree. And today is the first time I have plucked a leaf from the tree. For offering to Siva. So I hand over the leafsets to a priest who is chanting the Veda. He goes and hands it over to the chief priest who is just about to complete the decoration of Ramana Siva Lingam. That priest takes a leafset and places it on the Holy Linga, and then puts the metal crown on top.  I feel very blessed.

Walking around I meet the devotees, the Ashram President, and others. All are in a mood of absorption. After Uppuma dinner, I come back to the main hall. Do a pradakshina of the main shrine.

And as I walk out of the hall, I notice Sri Nochur Venkatraman, sitting near the side door, on the ground. He sees me and smiles. He looks in complete joy. He is evidently absorbed in some Japa. So we dont speak. Just exchange smiles, and I bow to him, and walk on.

Back to my room in Morvi guest house. Stepping out f0r Giri Pradakshina – Walk around Siva.

Arunachala!

Om Namo Bhagavate Sri Ramanaya!

Gentle, slow, sonorous chants of “Om Nama Sivaya” from the big Arunachaleshwara temple!

Happy Sivaratri to all!

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Night of Siva”

  1. Meena Says:

    Hope your girivalam went off well!
    Om nama sivaya !

  2. chitra Says:

    lovely way to spend the day.. I am a fan of Nochur Venkatraman.. Love listening to his Bhagavatam.. What a joy.. my mother listens to him as often as possible..
    I also had a great day yday.. fasted and spent the day with my childhood friend (after morning puja by laxman)..and in the evening, laxman did the rudrabhishekam at home and then we went to Malai mandir to join the chanting there.. It was a blissful day…

  3. Sankarasubramanian Says:

    Namaskarams Shri.GK.
    We are also blessed now by sharing your divine experience. We had been a part of rudhrabishekam and rudhra trisathi archana last night.

    Waiting to be blessed by your next spiritual expedition.

  4. G.L.N.Murthy Says:

    Dear Kameshji, Just now I came back to Banglore after visiting Tarakeswar Temple at Sri Satyananda Ashrmam, Inamadugu village,10km from NELLORE.I and my wife attended Sri SATYANANDA MAHARSHI Birth Centenary celebratiosns on Sivarathri day.I Think I need not inform more about this great disciple of Bhagavan Ramana.Sri Satyanananda Maharshi’s disciple is Brahmananda swamy,whose 80th birth day(as per westren calender) fell on !st March,is the present Pethadhipathi and maternal uncle of my wife.After threedays stay at the Ashram we have moved to see Sri Laskhminarasimha Temple at Penchala kona.We had the Darshan of the deities Lalitha,Lakkshmi and Saraswthi @ Bhagavathi Vijsayeswari Ashramam at the same place.I think ur already aware of this mataji whose birth was predicted years ahead of her coming in to this mundane world by Bhagavan Ramana Maharshi.-ur’s friendly-Murthy

  5. Srinivasa Says:

    Very nice!

  6. Pradeep Says:

    I am sure it must have been a very divine experience. Happy Shivarathri, belated though!🙂

Comments are closed.


