A Brindavan Thanksgiving – 1

Good morning…

It is sunrise time, and I am in a cab, in New Delhi, headed for the junction of Mathura Road and Ring Road, where my friend Ramey shall meet me…

Ramey and I often head out of Delhi, for day trips to places of pilgrimage. Today we are headed for Brindavan, where I plan to meet Swami Govindananda, a  medical doctor who became a Sanyasi…

I met Swamiji some years ago in Tiruvannamalai, at Sri Ramanasramam. He was with Swami Shantanandapuri, a sage who hails from Vasishta Guha, on the banks of Ganga in the lower slopes of the Himalaya. By divine decree, he stays six months, or so, every year in Ramanasramam. He has composed the Ramana Suprabhaatam, a wonderful Sanskrit composition, as also many other works. When I visited his little cottage in the Ashram, Swami Govindanandji was with him… And I came to know that he was  a disciple of Swami Akhandananda Saraswati of Brindavan, a great sage, reverentially known as Maharajshri (Click here for my earlier blog post on Swami Akhandanandaji). I had read a bit about Swamiji Akhandananda, and I struck up an acquaintance with Govindanandji. Govindandaji was a medical doctor in his poorvaashrama, and is known in his circle as Doctor Swami. Doctor Swami was kind enough to take my address and he sent me a copy of a Hindi book, ‘Paavan Prasang’, the spiritual autobiography of his Guru, Maharajshri. And that gave a glimpse of a whole new treasure in the “Wonder that is India”… Through that book, I came to have a darshan of the North Indian spiritual landscape. And what a landscape! To read of Maharajshri, Udiya Baba, Karpatri Maharaj, Hari Baba, Anandamayi Ma, and ever so many more great sages was such a feast for one’s heart!

(Meanwhile…View from the cab… The Sun has just risen..

Ok… Back to the background story…

Doctor Swami had also given me a copy of “Sri Poornananda Teertha Stava” – a sublime Sanskrit composition of Maharajshri, a Stotra in praise of his Guru, Udiya Baba, whose Sanyasa name was Sri Poornananda. That is such a beautiful composition that I was really drawn to it. This had just been translated to English by Swami Shantanandapuri, in whose room I met Doctor Swami…

Well, its a long story. Suffice to say, by the Grace of God, I could make a visit to Brindavan (with Ramey) some years ago, spend a few days there, and also visit Maharajshri’s Ashram, Ananda Vrindavan… (For a three-post report on that visit, click here).

I started reading Maharajshri’s books, and hear audio recordings of his talks… And Doctor Swami, invisibly helped me all the time. He sent me many more books. When I met him first, he was staying in Tirukoilur, near Tiruvannamalai, in Swami Gyanananda Tapovana Ashrama… A few years ago, he returned to Brindavan, and is now residing there…

And it is to see him, that I am headed now, to Brindavan… As a thanksgiving… Who can gauge the compassion that of Udiya Baba and Maharajshri! It is that ‘ahaituki kripa”, ‘compassion without any reason’, that flowed through Doctor Swami for this akinchana-stranger in Chennai. And I go to meet him, as a small expression of gratitude…

My cab reaches the turn to Mathura Road.. It is 6 am or so.. I reach the meeting point. Ramey is there, standing near his big car, a Scorpio…

I jump in and we are off…

The drive is beautiful…

The Sun is to our left now… And here’s a picture from the car….

*

We drive past Faridabad, Ballabgarh.. Places where I have worked in the beginning of my career…. As I look around for memories, Ramey steps on the pedal….  Well the road could use some repairs for sure, but the Scorpio powers its way onward.

And yes, Ramey says “Hi” to you…

*

** To be continued **

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “A Brindavan Thanksgiving – 1”

  1. Sanjay Balram Says:

    ‘Ahaituki kripa’ what a beautiful expression

Comments are closed.


